Thursday, December 23, 2010

Poinsettia Bowl/Navy Class of 2010 wrap up

We here (and by we I mean I) are huge Navy fans.  I'm from Annapolis originally and I've gone to all the home games this year and in years past.  I know and love this 2010 team.

Tonight is the final time this team is together. And it's the final game for a senior class that has a special place in any Navy fan's heart. QB Ricky Dobbs, SS Whatt Middleton, FB Vince Murray, and Jabaree Tuani. Just to name a few of the key players.

The reason why this class is so well regarded is because they won.  They have won like no other class has in recent Navy Football history and they have done it with class.

But enough with the brown-nosing on my end. This has been a very frustrating game to watch as a Navy fan.  That is mostly because it's been the same tune, different song so far.  Navy has always has a tough time stopping teams, especially though the air.  I don't know if  it's an athletic problem or a scheme problem but that has been the biggest problem for the Midshipmen.  The other problem lies with the size of their lineman on defense (and to a lesser extent, offense). The Naval Academy has a weight limit which hinders their ability to recruit those Beef O' Brady Boys to play Noseguard. The 4 yr. service commitment also doesn't help much.  It has shown out in Whale Vagina (Internet points to you guys who get the reference) tonight.  When Ryan Lindley wasn't throwing bombs to a wide open Vincent Brown it was an over powering line blocking for Ronnie Hillman.

Despite all of this, Ricky Dobbs had an awesome final game throwing the ball. One of the best I've seen him have in a while.  Greg Jones 
came up clutch when he had to which is what he's done all year. It just wasn't enough.

TBH- This is hard for me to write.  I wish I could see these guys on the field next year. But I can't. But that is part of the beauty of being 
a Navy fan. These men are not just graduating. They are going on to serve our country. So this is my thank you to the class of 2010 for 
the amazing years of memories and services.